On the campus of Legacy Early College Parker Campus is the Hollis Building, named for the service of Lawrence Peter Hollis as Superintendent of Parker District Schools from 1923 to 1951. The Hollis Building was his vocational training facility for the families of an active mill village. Originally, this campus offered education through high school as well as night classes, professional training, and athletic and community initiatives to improve the lives of men, women, and children of mill families. In 1951 the facilities became part the public-school system, then closed in 2006, and was reborn in 2010 as a Greenville County charter school.
The second floor addition and renovation of this building is to support high school students who are taking classes at local colleges. The unique schedules of these students require the school to create a ‘home base’ on Legacy’s campus when they are there. The renovation design provides flexible, didactic, and common space for classes, solo or group study, and socialization when on site. Giving students a college-like atmosphere and the opportunity to earn college credits is one strategy to encourage students toward higher education and demystify the post-secondary education experience.
The design maintains the rich history of the building and influence of the textile mills with large high, wood timber ceilings, wood plank floors, exposed brick walls and expansive windows. Classrooms of various sizes with mobile furniture allow each room to be customized as needed. Four study rooms adjacent to the main classroom allow teachers to maintain clear sight lines to students who are working in small groups. Common areas are also visible from the classrooms and can be used as break out space but have more of a lounge-like feel.
The interior design assimilates the structural columns and restored original floors into the design by complementing those elements with contemporary furniture and finishes. Several modular lounges outfitted in vibrant patterns and school colors accompany high top tables and task stools to create a refined atmosphere in the common ares. Additionally, the space is furnished with write-able surfaces, mobile marker boards, and technology friendly furnishings to assist with contemporary learning.
The first floor was renovated ten years prior as a fitness center for students, staff and the community. The second floor was left in its found state mainly because there was only one stair to the second floor. During this renovation, the original stair was replaced to meet current code. Architecturally, the only addition was a second stair wrapped around an elevator to provide accessibility. The addition was located closer to campus to ease access for students and faculty and was designed with large windows and a brick veneer to blend with the historic architecture.
19 Washington ParkGreenville, SC 29601
2504 St. Paul Street
Baltimore, MD 21218
© 2020 Craig Gaulden Davis Architecture.
An Engenius Website.